My first JLPT experience flashback

31 Jan

So I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but last year I decided to take the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) for the first time. It’s held at our country once a year, every December. I registered for the JLPT in September 2012 sort of spontaneously; the same kind of spontaneity like when I realised how I ended up in an operating table a few years ago for Lasik surgery.. Lol!

Let me tell you a story of my first JLPT exam whether you’d like to read it or not.. HEHE xD

It’s nothing huge really.. I decided to take the N5 exam :) I was thinking about skipping to Level N4 at first but then I couldn’t even recall correctly the days of the week or what’s “open” or “close” in Japanese, so better not.. :/ I didn’t have any idea what’s the papers are like either except that they’re all gonna be MCQ questions.

My plan was to start serious revision in October, but that didn’t happen so I thought, okay November then.. Well I didn’t study anything at all in Nov so that left me with my plan C of studying super hard on the first day of December cos the exam was scheduled on the 2nd..

30th Nov went by without me touching any books.. I did however throw frequent anxious glances at my books but I somehow always managed to distract myself into playing with my cats instead. That was procrastination performing at its best, lol.
1st Dec went by with me starting my revision that night by browsing online to see how’s JLPT paper samples are like. (During the daytime I still kept myself busy with the cats.. :3 Yea, wtf right?). Well, I started to panic too when I found out that I needed to memorise around 103(?) Kanji for N5! I expected it to be only like, 50? >.<; Just when I said to myself, “Wow, I’m in deep water now. I MUSTTTT seriously start wrecking my brain with Japanese for the paper tomorow!!”; I was hit with another realisation. It was already 11PM and I was getting reaaaallllyyyyy sleepy…

… So I set my alarm clock to wake me up at 4am on 2nd Dec and went straight to sleep. The exam was scheduled the next day at 9AM.

At 4:30AM I started my hardcore revision with sleep still in my eyes. By the time the sky started to lighten outside and the birds were chirping, I was already panicking as I still had LOTS to learn. Breakfast was occupied with me staring at my laptop reading Japanese study notes. I had Arashi’s “Welcome to my party” blasting in my car on loop during my drive to the exam site just to keep me in high spirits to face the exam. Upon arrival, I stayed half an hour in my car with the engine shut off and started memorising the kanji. :/ It was mad for me, but since I did this upon myself for procrastinating so who’s to be blamed besides myself right? *sobs* After 30 minutes, I abandoned my Kanji reading and walked to the exam hall. Since there was some waiting time, I reviewed the Japanese verbs in-between until we were told that the exam was commencing soon.. At that announcement, I was like ( *A*); and grabbed my HB pencil.

When the exam was done, I went home and took my sister out for lunch and we went to watch a movie just to make myself not to think too much on post-JLPT as much as possible. I didn’t even wanna take a moment to consider if I did OK enough to score a borderline-pass or not, prolly cos part of me knew with my poor effort before the exam, you’d expect to get poor results too and well, I didn’t like that thought :/

Sooooo I found out apparently yesterday, JLPT online results were out in Japan. For overseas, it was said to be released on 31st January at 5pm Japan time. Not gonna lie but I was really nervous! :S When I reached the office after lunch break today, I thought hmmm maybe I should check out the JLPT website just to ‘familiarise’ myself first so I could immediately go straight to the page at 5PM Japan hour later..

When I found the page where it requested my exam details and password, I keyed them in and hit Enter — and got immediately directly to my results! I HADN’T PREPARED MY BRAIN AND EYEBALLS FOR ANY OF IT YET!! It was still around 1:30PM, seriously. WTFFF.

Under my registration number, I saw the result verdict. It was 合格 (ごうかく). I FREAKIN’ PASSED THE JLPT EXAM AND I WAS OVER THE MOON AND SATURN!!!!! :D :D :D

The marks breakdown wasn’t so impressive really but the grades were nice to see though :D For listening section, I surprising did OK too~ ☆

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*
image

Honestly, at this level, I partly thank my obsession with Arashi shows because I picked up frequently-used words and kanji from them. I prolly wouldn’t have made it with such little preparation otherwise cos most of my answers were recalled from what I learned from watching Arashi than the study notes that I crammed within a few hours.. loll. That last minute cramming was suicide, seriously. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone and even myself again ^_^;;

So would I take the 2013 JLPT exam? Hmmm….~ :) But this time I ought to study smart and avoid killing huge amount of my brain cells within a short span of time from forced-memorisation :/

xxxxx

8 Responses to “My first JLPT experience flashback”

  1. HisaChan February 1, 2013 at 6:03 PM #

    AAA?? sugoi desu ne~ omedetou~ ~~~\(^.\) (/.^)/~~~

    next time..try TOPIK (Test of Proficiency in Korean).. (^_^)b

    • Amyyy February 1, 2013 at 10:14 PM #

      Arigatouu, Hisachan! ヽ( ^^)人(^^ )ノ

      Haha although I watch K music videos time to time but I don’t learn their lyrics. I can say that I know NOTHING about Korean language besides wae and kamsahamida (sp?).. loll. You into Korean too? I heard TOPIK is held four times a year!

      • HisaChan February 2, 2013 at 11:08 PM #

        4 times for Korean..other countries only 2 times a year..for us Asia region gonna be on the 21st April & 20th October this year..

        actually..I’m into Korean & KPop during my UBD (2001~2005) time..I dont remember & know how I got into KPop but ABSOLUTELY NOT because of Winter Sonata..

        after graduate & start working, I’m listening to Japanese & JPop..and got into Arashi because of Jun-bait (Gokusen) in 2008..

        but recently, I went back to Korean because of Running Man..hahaha..

        • Amyyy February 3, 2013 at 9:22 PM #

          Ahh I see.. I guess people are more into Korean language nowadays which isn’t a surprise with the Korean wave going on all around and such.. ^^

          Hahaha I’ve heard about people converting to become Korean fans because of Running Man, including my hardcore colleague which surprised me! loll. I do watch K-drama, K-movie or K-MVs sometimes but no interest in Korean language at the moment ^^ You trying out TOPIK this year?? :D There’s still time for October~ :))

          • HisaChan February 3, 2013 at 11:26 PM #

            well..that because Korean stuffs are easy to get & download than Japanese stuffs..and people also love to watch a “twisted” 70~100 episodes KDramas than 9~12 JDramas..cant really blame the Korean/Hallyu wave..hehe..

            right now I only watch Running Man..other than that..hmm~ I dont think I gonna watch it..unless it interest me..hehe..

            as for TOPIK..maybe one day I will take it..but not this year..but truthfully speaking..when my brother ask me which one is easy Japanese or Korean..I said Korean..coz you dont have to worry about the writing..haha..

            • Amyyy February 4, 2013 at 10:25 AM #

              Oh my.. I thought Korean and Japanese would be the same level of difficulty as they both have ‘Kanji’ as well but now that you mentioned it, I just googled about Korean language and wellllllll, they don’t use that much Kanji..??? :0 I didn’t know this fact until now.. Since Korean pronunciation is more complicated for me, I thought I have picked the easier choice, i.e. Japanese.. LOLL.

              Yes, you should try TOPIK! :D Prolly from the lowest level first if you self-study, at least it could motivate you to learn more once you passed~ For me, I didn’t dare to dive straight to higher test level first fearing I’d be super depressed afterwards.. Haha. If you’re interested to be more, there are night classes twice a week for Korean language at MOE’s division in Gadong for like $35/year. SUPER CHEAP! :DD

  2. HisaChan March 2, 2013 at 4:17 PM #

    Heeey~!! Congratulation on your JLPT Certificate presentation..read the news in today’s BB..but dont know which one is you..hahaha..anyway..Omedetou again.. (^_^)b

    • Amyyy March 2, 2013 at 5:50 PM #

      Haha thanks bb! xx I didnt know it was gonna be a presentation actually.. ^_^;; met a couple of NewS fangirls too! :D so happy to find people who finally know arashi haha

Leave a Reply

